Some help needed readapting Free5GC

Hello,

I am a student involved in a research project regarding 5G Core networks. My interests are different open source solutions such us Free5GC. My research is going to be based on this project which is very interesting but I´m having some difficulties adapting the current solution to my needs.

My goal is to achieve a platform with very simple commands to configure different uses cases yet to be defined to simulate different funcitons of 5G Core. One example of this could be, registering a defined number of UEs into the network and see messages exchaned, similar to TestRegistration.

I have run and studied all the available tests offered and now I would like to move forward with my research. For this I have several questions:

1. I would like to analyze at least SMF, AMF and UPF functions separately in different MV, this means, within an Ubuntu environment, NFs executed in different terminal windows(?). I think Free5GC has Docker Compose to do that but since I have no experience with that I do not really know what is its purpose, how to use it, or even if it is what I am looking for to get this done.

2. I have started reading the code of golang but since I have never used this programming language, I do not really know where to start, in order to get the use case explained before.
    Any suggestions on how could I get started would be appreciate it since I do not know where to begin.

3. I have been looking the configuration files and how AMF, SMF and UPF sets themselves up within the code reading such files. In these files The IP address 127.0.0.1 keeps showing up to represent different entities. My question is if I wanted to configure a more realistic environment, should I write different IPs and configurations to the NFs?

I think that is all for now. Anyone who can give ahand with any of my doubts before explained it would be verymuch appreciate.

Hi,